Jawaharlal Nehru University Disabled Persons’ Association (JNUDPA) is an association and organization which came into existence with the toiling efforts of disabled better to say differently-abled community of JNU and its sympathizers in the year 1999 to struggle for the general awareness related to the rights of physically handicapped community. The community super-ordinately includes physically challenged (PC/PH), sub-ordinately orthopedically challenged (OC/OH), visually challenged (VC/VH) and hearing challenged (HC/HH). It is solely devoted to the whole challenged community of JNU with membership of teaching (JNU faculties), non-teaching (JNU staff) and JNU students. It is completely a non-political organization without any political inclinations, political affiliations and biasness to any political party of either JNU or outside. It is a platform where all challenged JNUites come together brushing aside their individuality for the betterment of their socio-economic, educational and cultural life.

In 1994, the parliament passed the bill of 3% reservation for physically challenged in governmental educational institutions. But ironically till the year 1999, the JNU administration did not take any

initiative for the proper implementation of 3% reservation in this campus either in teaching, non-teaching jobs or in admission. It was in this context, JNUDPA came into being by some of our predecessors among students and staffs who exhibited indomitable will power and never-say-die spirit to found JNUDPA. It was the 15th March 1999 when a congregation of conscious JNUites held a meeting in JNU and thus JNUDPA came into existence, which unanimously elected Dr. R.R. Jha (Ph.D, SIS), as the first President and Sh. L. Kanniappan (Assist. Librarian) as the first Gen. Secretary for the consecutive five years.

The General Body meeting of the JNU Disabled Persons Association held on the 25th of September, 2012 on Room 046, School of Languages, JNU at 1.30 P.M.and the following are the names of the office bearers and members of Executive Council nominated for the period of 2012 to 2014.  The new Office Bearers are as under:

Shri Nand Kishore
JNU, New Delhi
Shri Jagdish Rajpurohit
JNU, New Delhi
Dr. S. Maitra
Associate Professor, 
Shri Hoshiar Singh 
JNU, New Delhi
Shri Shankar Lal Seemawat
JNU, New Delhi

Executive Committee

  1. Shri Akshaansh Gupta
  2. Shri Darshan Lal
  3. Ms Uma
  4. Shri Sanjiv Mallik
  5. Shri Rajesh Kumar
  6. Shri Shambhu Nath Sarkar

Advisory Committee

  1. Shri L. Kanniappan
  2. Shri Pintu Kumar
  3. Shri Gopal Parihar

The copies of this resolution have been sent to the all concern authorities of JNU. This file also attached to our group's website.

We will unite and we will win.